Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Distance Education Committee

The Provost relies on the Distance Education Committee (DEC) for developing and overseeing policies and processes for the effective delivery of high-quality distance education at Saint Louis University in compliance with Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and federal guidelines. At the beginning of each academic year, the Provost will provide the DEC with a charge, and the DEC will meet on a regular basis throughout the academic year and summer as needed. Recommendations going forward to the Provost will be based on majority vote by all DEC members.

Current Charge:

The Saint Louis University Distance Education Committee will, in partnership with existing structures and stakeholder groups, provide strategy development, planning, forecasting, and recommendations to operationalize the University’s distance education standards. The Committee’s immediate charge is to identify areas in which the University is most at risk of regulatory compliance and develop action items to mitigate the risks.


The Dean, Vice President, Director, or Provost from each College, School, Division, or Provost’s Office will choose the DEC member(s) from the respective unit. Each member will serve a two-year term. Reappointment or selection of a new representative is the purview of the Dean, Vice President, Director, or Provost from each College, School, Division, or Provost’s Office.

The Associate Provost for Distance Education, or an individual appointed by the Provost, will chair the DEC.

The DEC will invite other community stakeholders to meetings as appropriate. Representation may change periodically should Colleges/Schools realign, or should the DEC Chair or Provost see a need for other voices on the Committee.

Current Members:

Tracy Chapman (Chair) Provost - Distance Education
Gary Barker College of Arts and Sciences
John Buerck  School for Professional Studies
Robert Cole School of Education
Kyle Collins Information Technology Services
Kelly Herbolich Student Development
Julie Howe Doisy College of Health Sciences
Rebecca Hyde Library
Kerrin Kowach School of Law
Mike Lewis Provost - Faculty Development
Debie Lohe Reinert Center for Transformative Teaching and Learning
Steve Magoc Parks College of Engineering, Aviation and Technology
Olgun Sahin Chaifetz School of Business
Joanne Thanavaro School of Nursing
Kathleen Thatcher Provost - Assessment
TBD College of Public Health and Social Service